Engage everyday

March 18, 2011 § 2 Comments

A little while ago I blogged about a great project begun last fall by a group of dedicated and engaged Library and Information Science students. I’ve also written about my efforts to use social media to gain a better understanding of the teaching profession and its goals. For the past nine months, I’ve been participating in a webinar series via edweb.net (Using Emerging Technology to Advance Your School Library Program) put together by Michelle Luhtala, a fantastic teacher librarian from Conneticut.

What do all these things have in common? I think they demonstrate how you can use social media and other free tools to learn, and engage others in your field or area of interest every day.

TEP students, my advice to you is to engage with others in your chosen profession right now. Get started today.

Seriously. Today.

Join conversations on Twitter. Read blogs. Listen to what other teachers across the country and around the world have to say. Engage with them. Share resources. Share concerns. Share ideas.  Every day. Every. Day. Get started now. If you do, will not regret that you did.

I know it may seem like something that will be too time consuming, but really, it takes as much time as you want it to. If you have a Twitter account, start following teachers who inspire you. Here’s my list if you need a place to start. If you don’t have a Twitter account, here is a great video by 6th grade teacher Josh Stumpenhorst to get you started.

Use RSS to follow bloggers who inspire you. Here are some of my favorite teacher blogs.

Don’t forget. Get started now.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Engage everyday

  • I recently joined twitter and it has made me realize that I should have been on it a long time ago! I’ve made some great connections and through reading blogs, I’m usually up to date on current events dealing with our profession. This is great advice!

    • Thanks! I also regret not starting earlier; though Twitter was still infancy when I was in lib school all of three years ago, I definitely regret not subscribing to more blogs. I definitely agree that I feel I have a good handle on issues that I care about, and have made some wonderful connections.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Engage everyday at SAU Curriculum Library's Blog.

meta

