E-readers

January 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

When considering purchasing an e-reader, I think it’s important to think about what you will be using it for, and what kind of devices you already have. For example, if you are a student who constantly carries a laptop everywhere, you may do well to download something like NookStudy to read e-books. If you have a smart phone, and are only going to do light reading, you could easily read on your phone.* But with the price of e-readers falling, it may make sense to take the plunge and purchase a new gadget.

I’ve talked before about my Nook a few times before, so I’m sure you know my recently-discovered love for the e-book.** While actual reading of pages, paper or e-ink, has become a luxury for me lately (the void being filled by a steady flow of audio books), I still am happy I made the plunge. My friend Julia has recently declared her love for her Kindle, and made a wonderful case for the e-book in academia, particularly (gasp!) those studying library and information science (LIS).

I am particularly happy to be a Nook owner now, because my library has recently started carrying e-books (thank you, DPL)! Through the magic of Overdrive, I can now access quite a few newer titles in digital format, as well as a number of classics.

A while ago, I started a draft post of places where you can get free ebooks. I haven’t had the chance to flesh this list out, but here are a few places to start searching:

  • your local library (via NetLibrary, Overdrive or similar)
  • http://www.readprint.com/
  • http://projectgutenburg.org/
  • Amazon (If you own a Kindle)
  • Barnes & Noble (If you own a Nook or have downloaded NookStudy, they offer free books every few weeks, usually from the pubic domain, and also “free Fridays,” where one free book is offered per week.)
  • Julia has compiled a great list of places to find free content.

Happy reading!

* Though the bright screen hurts my eyes after a few minutes, and I prefer the e-ink display).

** As a side note, when I purchased the thing, I swear that the “n” was lowercase. Now it is capitalized, and it makes me sad.

Also check out this post and this post by Stephen’s Lighthouse about e-reader compatibility with libraries and the increasing number e-book downloads.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading E-readers at SAU Curriculum Library's Blog.

meta

