Egads! Challenged books*

April 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

The ALA has published their list of the most challenged books in 2009. I am sad to say I have only read three of them.** Of course, the others (minus Twilight– sorry!) are immediately going on my “to-read” list.

In case you are feeling really subversive, check out the list of the 100 most challenged books of the last decade. Twelve (possibly thirteen) of these have at one time or another graced my nightstand. I have read other books by a few of the challenged authors as well. (Go me!)

Every time I read a list of banned or challenged books, I think to myself, “Self, how boring do you think reading would be if none of these books were available to you?” And then I answer “Well, Self, pretty boring… I don’t know if I would bother to read if these fantastic books weren’t there to tempt me into their pages.” Then I agree with myself that these books are challenged because they challenge the reader to think. And apparently, that’s not a good thing to all people. After that, I go out and get a few more challenged books to grace my nightstand.

*Once again, a shout out to 100 Scope Notes, for bringing the publication of these lists to my attention. If only I could be as on top of things as 100 Scope Notes!!

**But I have seen the movie for three more! That counts for half-credit, right?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Egads! Challenged books* at SAU Curriculum Library's Blog.

meta

