Shel Silverstein

April 7, 2010 § Leave a comment

When I was a kid, The Giving Tree was one of my favorite books. I had absolutely no idea that Shel Silverstein was also a singer/songwriter (and apparently even wrote A Boy Named Sue!). Thanks to 100 Scope Notes, I have been enlightened.

A new album commemorates and celebrates Silverstein’s contribution to music, and includes songs performed by My Morning Jacket, Lucinda Williams, Andrew Bird, and more! You can listen to one of My Morning Jacket’s songs if you click on the link above.

Holy cow, I’ll be buying this on June 8th! I can’t wait to hear “The Giving Tree!”

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shel Silverstein at SAU Curriculum Library's Blog.

meta

