Alice in Wonderland*

March 10, 2010 § Leave a comment

SPOILER ALERT!** In preparation of seeing Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland, I decided to read Lewis Caroll’s original.***  I am sad to admit that I had never read it as a kid (or Peter Pan, or many other books that Disney movies are based on).  However, I had seen the Disney version many times, so I felt I knew the gist of the story.

I have to admit, I was disappointed with the book.  I expected more detail than was in the Disney movie, more subplot or explanation.  It seems that the gist I got from the Disney movie is all that there was in the book.

Don’t misunderstand; I didn’t dislike Alice, I just didn’t get what I wanted out of it. It is worth a read, if you haven’t ever picked it up.

That being said, I now believe I can see the new movie adaption without being disappointed, since it can only add to the story.

Afterword — now having read a synopsis of the movie plot, I see that it is not supposed to be a literal adaption of the book.  This partially disappoints me, though part of me also feels that it could add an interesting spin on the story as a sequel.  I am now very happy that I read the books before I saw the movie, so that I know the basis for the characters.

*This is the first of what I expect will be a series of short reviews of children’s and young adult books. I considered calling the series “Hey, Courtney, whatcha reading,” but opted against.

**If you don’t want to read a full synopsis of the movie plot, don’t click on the link.

***I quite often find that movies I like are based on books, if I didn’t know already. If I like the movie, I have to read the book. However, I am usually leery of watching a movie adaption of a book I have loved, since the movie is inevitably  not as good as the book.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Alice in Wonderland* at SAU Curriculum Library's Blog.

meta

